Apple Watch to launch in seven new countries this month

apple watch
Credit: Apple

After a slow initial rollout, it's finally seems that Apple is getting a handle on Apple Watch supply.

The Cupertino-based company yesterday announced that the Apple Watch is poised to launch in an additional seven countries come Friday, June 24.

The countries being graced with the Apple Watch treatment include Italy, Mexico, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland and Taiwan. This will soon bring the total number of countries that carry the Apple Watch to 16.

“The response to Apple Watch has surpassed our expectations in every way," Apple executive Jeff Williams said in a press release, "and we are thrilled to bring it to more customers around the world."

Additionally, Williams said that Apple is making ample progress fulfilling the ongoing backlog of orders the company has been dealing with since the device launched back in April.

As it stands now, Apple says that all orders placed in May -- with the exception of the 42mm Space Black Stainless Steel with Space Black Link Bracelet -- will now ship within two weeks time.

It's also worth noting that the Apple Watch will soon be available for purchase in Apple retail stores. Previously, Apple's new wearable was only available for purchase online.

Join the Network World communities on Facebook and LinkedIn to comment on topics that are top of mind.
Must read: 10 new UI features coming to Windows 10