Working around Apple's inexplicable email app change

Working around Apple's inexplicable email app change

With iOS 10, Apple removed the Trash All button and replaced it with something totally convoluted


For the second time in a row, I find myself unmotivated to upgrade my iPhone. The 6S had nothing that appealed to me, and the 7 is a downright turn-off with its lack of a headset jack. Five years after Steve Jobs' death, and this is what passes for innovation at Apple. The only thing preventing a defection on my part is all the apps I've invested in won't transfer to Android, and I don't feel like repurchasing all of them.

+ Also on Network World: Settings in iOS 10: Every notable change you need to know +

In addition to the decidedly unappealing phone, iOS 10 made a baffling move that has left me wondering what Jony Ive, Apple’s chief designer officer, and Craig Federighi, Apple's senior vice president of software engineering, are thinking. One of the more welcomed features in previous versions of iOS was the Trash All feature in Apple Mail. Prior to that you had to manually select every email for deletion.

So, it boggles the mind that iOS 10 removed this feature. In fact, even the Select All feature is gone. All you have is the option to Mark All as Flagged or Read.

Naturally I put in an inquiry to Apple PR about this. Naturally there was no response. Just what do they do all day?

According to one thread on Apple's support boards, Apple Support told one user "The feature to Move All or Trash All has gone away. The reason is so people are not making the mistake and trashing all emails. You will have to select each one and then move or trash."

Before you question whether people are really that dumb, yes, they can be. It's unfortunate we have to be ruled by the lowest common denominator.

I finally found the solution, if you could call it that, in the comments section of an iOS 10 story on Cult of Mac. 

Go to your Inbox, tap Edit, then Mark All, and then Mark All as Read. This will then close the Edit mode.

Tap Edit again, and tap the top message in the inbox. Press and hold the Move button with your thumb.

While holding the Move button, uncheck the top message, and then release the Move button. 

It will look like only the top message is being deleted when, in fact, it clears the inbox. It also kicks off another download. The default number of letters in the inbox is 250. So after removing the most recent 250, it will pull down another 250 from your server. So now I am removing emails from August.

This is a really dubious design decision on Apple's part, and if the fear of people trashing all their mail was the reason, then that's just plain ridiculous. If you trashed all your mail, it was still in the Trash folder and retrievable for at least a day. Again, must the masses be denied a useful feature because of the idiots?

Must read: Hidden Cause of Slow Internet and how to fix it
View Comments
Join the discussion
Be the first to comment on this article. Our Commenting Policies