Network World
Saturday, November 22, 2008
DNSstuff.com
Get information about your IP
IP Information
50+ On-demand DNS and network tools

Community

Navigation

Fake Google Adwords Site Discovered

It appears that another round of phishing attacks have emerged and this time they are targeting the Google Adwords platform. Emails are being sent to unsuspecting users containing subject lines such as:

"Update your billing information"
"From Adwords No-Reply"
"Verify Adwords Account"

The idea behind this phishing attack is to obtain credit card information by tricking users into thinking that their ads have become in-active and in order to continue they must re-enter payment information. The site that a user is directed to from the email message looks very authenticate in terms of the real site (in fact the link in the email is real, but some behind the scenes clever HTML coding has changed that).

This is another way that hackers make a profit through real business models. The entire analysis can be found at my blog:

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <i> <b> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote> <br /> <br> <p>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • You can use BBCode tags in the text.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Advertisement: