- What does Cisco have against Quebec?
- Attrition.org nails another nitwit
- Diary of a deliberately spammed housewife
- Seven cloud-computing security risks
- 20 great Windows open source projects
News | Newsletters | Podcasts | Chats | Opinions | RSS Feeds | This Week In Print | IT Careers | Community | Reports | Downloads | Slideshows | New Data Center
Partner Sites:App Performance | On Demand Security | Networking Solution | SOA | Value of WDS
The ongoing Storm Trojan attack that began Monday has morphed again, security researchers said Thursday, changing the malicious file's name, shifting to new malware hosting servers, and adding a rootkit to cloak the bot code from anti-virus software.
Spam messages attempting to dupe users into installing the bot-making Trojan now include links happycards2008.com or newyearcards2008.com, different URLs than in the second-wave attack that began Christmas Day. According to analysts at the SANS Institute's Internet Storm Center (ISC) and U.K.-based Prevx Ltd., the name of the file users are asked to download has also changed from Tuesday's "happy2008.exe." The file being shilled today is tagged to "happynewyear.exe."
More important is the behind-the-scenes addition of a rootkit to the versions of Storm now being seeded to infected machines, said researchers. Both Marco Giuliani of Prevx and an independent security researcher named Russ McRee have posted analyses of Storm's cloaking attempt.
[Storm now has] better hiding skills, no visible running processes, nastiness all hidden from the API (can you say rootkit?)," said McRee on his HolisticInfoSec Web site. "No more hanging out in the open, easily seen."
Fortunately, said Giuliani, the rootkit is relatively old, and thus detectable by at least some security software. Neither is the move by Storm's makers to hide its components and operations from anti-virus programs a new thing: the Trojan began using rootkits months ago.
Giuliani also wondered why the domains hosting the Trojan had not been taken down. "If the attack is currently known and security companies are updating their software, why are these fake domains still active?" he asked in a post to the Prevx company blog. "If servers behind [these] sites are constantly changing so that it would be impossible to shut them down, these servers are reached by four well-known domains. Why, after four days, hasn't anyone successfully taken these domains down?"
According to WHOIS look-ups, both the happycards2008.com and newyearcards2008.com domains were registered with a Russian domain registrar named RUcenter only yesterday; the listed contact for the two domain is a "Bill Gudzon" of Los Angeles, Calif., but the contact phone number gave only a constant busy signal.
IBM spent all that money on a mass rollout of PGP Whole Disk Encryption, just when its discovered that...- Anonymous
Comment