TSHOOT Practice Questions - The Answers!

This blog entry reveals the answers to the TSHOOT practice questions posted last week.

Last week I challenged you with a collection of five TSHOOT multiple choice questions. You did fantastic! As a group, you got every question correct.

However, as a reference, I wanted to provide you with the questions, answers, and reasons. Here you go:

Q1: Which of the following tools can create a network performance baseline and has the ability to distinguish between different traffic flows?





Reason: While both SNMP (Simple Network Management Protocol) and NetFlow can be used to create a network performance baseline, NetFlow has the ability to distinguish between different traffic flows.Q2. Which of the following maintenance models defines the PPDIOO model?




Cisco Lifecycle Services

Reason: FCAPS (which stands for Fault Management, Configuration Management, Accounting Management, Performance Management, and Security Management) is a network maintenance model defined by the ISO.Q3. Which of the following is not a component of the FCAPS management model?

ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) is a collection of best-practice maintenance recommendations.

TMN (Telecommunications Management Network) is an ITU-T variation on the FCAPS model, which targets management of telephony networks.

Cisco Lifecycle Services defines the phases in the life of a Cisco technology. The phases are: Prepare, Plan, Design, Implement, Operation, and Optimize (PPDIOO).

Fault Management

Configuration Management

Application Management

Performance Management

Security Management

Reason: The “A” in FCAPS refers to Accounting Management.Q4. Which of the following maintenance tools are command line interface (CLI) based?






Reason: EEM (Embedded Event Manager) is a CLI tool which can take a predefined action in response to a detected event defined in a router’s configuration. GUI tools include: Cisco Configuration Professional (CCP), Cisco Configuration Assistant (CCA), Cisco Network Assistant (CNA), and Cisco Security Device Manager (SDM).

Q5. A Cisco Catalyst switch’s forwarding logic is complied in what type of memory?



Adjacency Table


Reason: Ternary Content Addressable Memory (TCAM) is part of a Cisco Catalyst switch’s forwarding logic. However, if a switch’s TCAM cannot forward traffic , that traffic is forwarded by the switch’s CPU.

Join the Network World communities on Facebook and LinkedIn to comment on topics that are top of mind.

Copyright © 2010 IDG Communications, Inc.

SD-WAN buyers guide: Key questions to ask vendors (and yourself)