Microsoft CALs…Part II

Second part of series on how to license Microsoft Server Client Access Licenses (CAL)

I started this topic last week in the interest of making Microsoft Client Access Licenses (CALs) easier to understand, now it’s time to take a slightly deeper dive…

In addition to the CALs discussed last week, there are additive CALs for certain Microsoft server technologies that are required when specific server functionality is used. In the old days, if you had a Microsoft Exchange Server CAL you had the rights to use all of the functionality of the Exchange Server. This has changed and you now have to pay attention to the functionality you are using and if that functionality requires an additive CAL or an Enterprise CAL (eCAL).

The following applies to the server versions listed but some earlier versions also required additive CALs. Be sure to check out the licensing specific to the version you are using for accurate information.

Current server technologies that have eCAL implications are Exchange Server 2010, Microsoft SharePoint Server 2010 and Microsoft Office Communications Server 2007. Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 has additive CAL implications through the Remote Desktop Services CAL (formerly Terminal Services CAL) and Windows Active Directory Rights Management Services CAL.

These additive CALs are in addition to the need for the base CAL, so don’t make the mistake of only buying the additive CAL (although there are some bundles such as the Microsoft Enterprise CAL Suite which are comprised of both the base CAL and the eCAL…be sure to get clarification when you’re purchasing to be sure).

Exchange Server 2010 eCAL:

At a high level, the Exchange eCAL is required when using Advanced Exchange ActiveSync Mobile Management Policies, some journaling capabilities, Voicemail with Unified Messaging, Custom Retention Policies, Integrated Archive, Multi-Mailbox Search and Legal Hold, along with a few other advanced features. For full details be sure to review the Exchange licensing website.

SharePoint Server 2010 eCAL:

There’s a lengthy list of functionality in SharePoint Server 2010 where an eCAL is required. For the full list, be sure to visit the SharePoint Server licensing website. Some of the functionality includes the use of Dashboards, many of the Business Intelligence functions, calculated KPIs, and some of its interaction with the various Microsoft Office components.

Office Communications Server 2007 eCAL:

At a high level, the Office Communications Server eCAL is required when using multi-party web conferencing, application sharing, software powered VOIP, call management, along with a few other advanced features. For full details be sure to review the Office Communications Server licensing website.

Also of note, it appears that there will be some changes to the CAL structure for Office Communications Server 2010 so be sure to check back for more information later!

Speaking of changes to licensing… check out the Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 CAL requirements on my Software Asset Management blog.

Join the Network World communities on Facebook and LinkedIn to comment on topics that are top of mind.

Copyright © 2010 IDG Communications, Inc.