• United States

Installing SQL Server 2008 Failover Clustering on Windows Server 2008

May 18, 20092 mins

Recently organizations, fellow SQL Server MVPs and DBAs have asked me for resources on how to install a SQL Server 2008 Failover Cluster from both a SQL Server and a Windows Server 2008 perspective.  Definitely, failover clustering is a hot topic within the SQL community – specifically if you are trying to obtain high availability and minimize data loss. 

My latest title SQL Server 2008 Management and Administration includes a dedicated chapter on how to design and implement a SQL Server 2008 Failover Clustering when running on Windows Server 2008.  The chapter includes; the new features associated with failover clustering for both SQL Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008, it then covers step-by-steps on implementing a two node single instance failover cluster and a multiple instance failover cluster.  Finally, the chapter also includes steps associated with adding the clustering service and establishing the cluster from a Windows Server 2008 standpoint.  I don’t believe any other resource including Books Online includes this level of detail – specifically establishing the Windows Server 2008 cluster. 

It is worth noting, when running SQL Server 2008 on Windows Server 2008, you can now scale out up to 16 nodes within the cluster.  16 nodes requires the Enterprise Edition of both Windows Server 2008


Ross Mistry – SQL MVP

I recently joined twitter – @RossMistry.  Feel free to follow the daily events of an Author, Consultant and SQL Server MVP. 


Ross Mistry, SQL MVP

Author, Consultant and SQL Server MVP

Check out my latest books, blogs and tweets.

Author: SQL Server 2008 Management and Administration and Windows Server 2008 Unleashed